Summer Painting Progress: Dystopian Russian, Firestorm Armada Alliance

2014SummerProgress4

More progress to report: six Russian Coalition frigates for Dystopian Wars, a Sorylian defense monitor for Firestorm: Armada, and a Syndicate battlecruiser also for my FS:A fleet.  Here are a few quick pictures.

2014SummerProgress6

The Sorylian defense monitor was a conversion using spare parts from the new Sorylian cruiser box, after building four heavy cruisers.  I am pretty happy with it – it is similar in size and aesthetic to my old Skyhammers, but noticeably different in several obvious ways.  I think it makes a good proxy for a fourth Skyhammer, allowing me to field a full squadron of Skyhammer cruisers, a full squadron of Kopis heavy cruisers, and a full squadron of Terran Sentinel cruisers simultaneously.  What a glorious game that would be!

2014SummerProgress5

2014SummerProgress1

The Spur class battlecruiser, pictured above, was painted using at least 9 layers of different washes and glazes.  I had mixed feelings about the results – I was going for a deep purple, but it came out dark and rusty looking.  However, the spray finish frosted on the edges of the model in a very interesting, aerodynamic way that I was surprisingly pleased with – it reduced the darkness of the model and gave it a cool sailing-through-the-void feel.  None of the pictures show this well; the frosting can be seen in the first three pictures of the post, while the fourth shows the ship before the finish was applied.  I rationalize the Spur is the private warship of a wealthy Terran senator, out touring the front lines.  The orange and turquoise marks on the top bow are campaign marks that tie it to the Sorylian and Terran fleet assets in the area.

2014SummerProgress2

These RC Novgorod frigates differ from my previous ones by not having brass or tin piping on some details, otherwise the scheme is the same.  I can now field four full squadrons of four frigates in Dystopian Wars!  I guess I should buy the 2.0 rulebook soon…

An update also came in today from an unexpected quarter, Waaagh! Og’Thall:

2014SummerProgress3

 

You can find more about Waaagh! Og’Thall, my Sorylian and Terran alliance fleet, and my Russian Coalition forces in old entries, using the drop down menu to the right – or by clicking on the terms at the end of this post.

Leave a Reply

