Self-Build Contest: Ian’s and More

There’s little else like the completion of a project, and it gives me pleasure to bring to you the following three entries to the Self-Build contest (deadline coming up, see previous entry).  They were all painted with concerted effort this evening, and in the end, even though I was somewhat disappointed with the modeling of my own self-model, I think the paint job redeems it to me.  I hope the picture quality can convey the time spent on these models!

First, my own model.

ian

Of particular note for this model: the sculpted beard and hair, the sculpted giant pretzel (back of the base), and the sleeves are in a blue/black/gray camouflage scheme.  It’s also an important model for me because it marks the first time I’ve painted irises successfully (admittedly, though, I didn’t risk pupils).

Second, my brother Keenan’s (he’s Tau, just like his army):

keenan

Although it’s hard to see in this picture, on the right shoulder there’s a sculpted cockatiel that comes close to matching this Fire Warrior’s hair color.  The model is made up of various pieces from different ranges, including a Warhammer Empire militiaman torso, a Kroot satchel, and a decorative skull from the Assault on Black Reach set.  It’s painted in a scheme close enough that it could be used without shame in the owner’s Tau Empire army.  I’ll let you know, too, that besides the lack of a nose it does look quite like the artist himself.

Finally, I have a second submission, a model I made of my friend Tom (we don’t have to count it in the judging, for sake of fairness – maybe it’s just a good match for Andy’s outrageous character build earlier…).

tom1

Built primarily from Imperial Guard pieces, this model is perhaps the least directly representative of the individual it was built to render (sadly; and although I could blame it on a lack of appropriate bits I should also probably blame my unwillingness to sculpt parts from scratch).  I’d like to point out two things about this model.  First: yes, the flamethrower does have a bayonet attached.  Second, the object on the base is a turnip from Mario 2, custom-sculpted of course.  One could say Tom is a bit of a gamer.

As I mentioned before, I’m very pleased with how these three models turned out.

allside

allback

allfront

So, as Andy requested, let’s see some entries from our other readers!

2 responses to “Self-Build Contest: Ian’s and More

  1. Great! I simply love them!

    I managed to do mine – at very short notice in the end! I just posted it on my blog, and you’re welcome to use any of the images, of course!

    Cheers,

    Drax.

Leave a Reply

