A Painted Tank and some Hair Sculpts

Two small advances to report.  First, Aaron and Keenan have finished building themselves and we have even sculpted hair onto them as befits their own looks, and it looks good.

weed

sculpts

sculpts2

In the background you can see the second thing to report: I painted a tank this week.  It took about two and a half hours one night, and I’m pretty pleased with the results.  Tank name “Shorty.”

dkanglsgrn rearview 

shorty

5 responses to “A Painted Tank and some Hair Sculpts

  1. That’s a great idea for the Leman Russ, and I love the original hair styles you’ve added to the men – it makes a huge difference to the model! Though I better save any attempts myself until I get somewhat better with the Greenstuff…

  2. A couple friends finally convinced me to start playing 40K, and your step-by-step on painting a Dread is what drew me to the site. Lot’s of cool stuff here, your paint jobs all look pretty tight.

    Anyhow, since you’ve asked people to post their armies I decided it would be more cost effective to start my army with 2 Assault on Black Reach sets, since I read all of the Warhammer books the library had until they got stolen, and I’ve always loved the Dark Angels.

    After the two Black Reach sets I’m getting a squad of Devastators and another of Assault troops to round it off, along with a Codex (durr). Vehicles will be coming MUCH later.

    This gives me 2 Captains, 2 Dreads, 20 troops, 10 terminators, 5 Devastators and 5 assault troopers with jet packs. Since I don’t have the codex yet I don’t know what bonuses I’ll be using so I can’t give a points count yet.

    Like I said, I like the Dark Angels, but I don’t know if that’s the group I’ll end up playing as, so for my paint job I’ll be going with a very dark green, almost black. I also got some ideas from the GW website and I’ll be ‘liberating’ some spare heads from my ‘nid friends to use as replacement armor, along with some plasticard to emulate armor fashioned from dead Ork gear. Not sure what I’ll do to emulate scraps from the Tau or Eldar, but I’m sure I’ll think of something. This brings me to my secondary army.

    Apparently, if you Paint It Red it goes faster. I’m not sure how this works, but everyone knows you don’t argue logic with an Ork. After playing Warcraft 3 I’ve decided to run with the idea and plan on fielding an army of firetruck red Orks, and since it’s going to be a Red Army I’m going to fashion together some hammers and sickles for melee weapons. My buddy Matt is a genius with paint and Green Stuff and has agreed to do the paint for me if I give him my spare pocket sized rule book.

  3. This is my first visit to your site and I must say I like the pics. I used to be big time Imperial Guard then I moved to the Eldar, Chaos, Dark Eldar (which I regret) and now I play Tau too. Your site looks very good. Kudos.

Leave a Reply

