Fruit’s of the Summer: Imperial Guard Showcase

This summer has been one of significant progress for me and my model armies. I finished two fantasy armies, finished a Tau Empire force, started an Eldar army, and worked intensely on my Imperial Guard’s overhaul. But as the summer winds down, I am forced to admit that the time has come for me to postpone further progress. On Sunday I head back to college, and I most likely will not make any project advancement until various vacations during the school year. To go out with a blogging bang, I’ve taken a hefty amount of pictures of my Imperial Guard army, which stands currently at 3579 points. Perhaps in the future I’ll write a post concerning the background and fluff of the force, and maybe the army list will also receive some form of publication. For now I will focus on the models.
The Guard army stands approximately half finished. I completed, thanks to the help of brothers and friends, 91 infantry models and 6 vehicles. This leaves 55 infantry models and 8 more vehicles to be painted. My Imperial Guard army is made up of three different sub-divisions. The first and largest is the group of units from the parent regiment(s): the Volyak XXI Rifles and the Volyak XVII Armored. Next are local Planetary Defense Force (PDF) units attached to the Volyak regiment from the Artherian 4th Combined Arms regiment. Last and numerically the least are the attachments from Imperial Command, namely a squad of storm troopers and an operative from the Officio Assassinorium.
Painting wise I started by taking care of all of the PDF units in the force, so we can start there, as well.
Pictured in some of the images above, too, are the two storm troopers I’ve finished, in a blue and white camouflage scheme.
Out of the regular regimental units we finished quite a lot of the basic infantry, one vehicle and a cyclops demolition team.
I used this “photoshoot” opportunity to pull out all of my Guard and organize them. It’s a pretty significant force, fit for Apocalypse-sized games (and those are about the only kind that can handle all of those models at once).

Was that an Ogryn Bodyguard back in there? Yes. Yes, it was.

2 responses to “Fruit’s of the Summer: Imperial Guard Showcase

Leave a Reply

