Help has arrived!

Everything currently painted.

Wow, somebody check my temperature, two actual updates in one week? Shocking! Ian and I have been talking about what we’re going to do for future updates, and things look promising. Ian is going to be stripping and re-painting 3500 points of Imperial Guard, (yowza!) and I’ll be making some bunkers from scratch. Look for those in the next few weeks. But for today, we’re going to look at what I’ve been neglecting to put up here for the past few months.

So I’ll start with the sniper. Look for him in the group photo, see him? No? That’s because he’s hiding. (Or that I forgot to put him out for that one. Whoops.) He has a very simple color scheme: Dark Angels Green, Camo Green, Chaos Black and Tin Bitz for the body, Bronzed and Elf flesh for the face, and bits of Blood Red, Sunburst Yellow, and Snot Green to highlight his goggles and gun. Sadly, he’s the lone sniper, as I’ve not put the others together yet. That’ll change.

Eventually.

My personal favorites of the group, the Death Company and the Chaplain. This picture really doesn’t do them justice. The marines were simple, Chaos Black, drybrush with Fortress Gray, (Really, really light on that drybrushing too, just enough to break up the black and highlight the edges.) Tin Bitz for the metal parts like the jump pack straps and vents, and Skull White for the helmets. Oh, and Blood Red for the eyes.

The Chappy was a bit more indepth, though it’s the same basic scheme. More Shining Gold and Mithril Silver on the metal parts, Liche Purple highlighted with Ice Blue for his cloth piece, and Blood Red on the Purity seals. Heavier on the Fortress Grey than on the DC because, hey, he’s been around. That armor is going to get scuffed, right?

And finally, the Beakies and the Chapter Master. The Master was done like the other marine. I painted his armor to show wear. He doesn’t lead from the rear, no sir, not my guy. His cape was done as the Chaplains. It truly is a great combination, and if you are thinking of adding purple to your models, I highly recommend it. You won’t regret it. The Beakies I got off of eBay and, despite their age, are some of my favorites. They’ve proved to be more difficult to paint than I thought, however. They didn’t take the stripping as well as I’d hoped. No matter, they are tabletop condition, and will likely lead the way against enemy forces.

I should note here that all the guns I’ve been doing lately have been done in Mithril Silver, with a heavy blank ink over the top. These pictures don’t show it well, but it really is a pleasant effect. Don’t dilute the ink, and don’t be shy. The silver will shine through.

And that’s it for now! Oh, I had a question about attempting to resurrect old paint. If it looks like mud, you can add a little bit of water and stir it up with a toothpick, that’s how I kept some of mine alive. If it’s completely hardened, you can go to the local GW store, and pay $3 or $4 for a new pot – that sucker probably isn’t going to come back in usable condition. Hope that answers your question.

As always, leave comments, I love ’em, Ian loves ’em, everyone loves ’em. And don’t forget: I’ll post photos of your army if you want them up here. Leave a comment with an honest email address and I’ll get back to you. Cheers all!

-Andy

2 responses to “Help has arrived!

  1. You know for some reason I really like the red scope lens on that scout. I’m not sure why – I would never have considered that color, but it turned out pretty well.

Leave a Reply

